Adopted Sons and Daughters of God

Read Romans 8:15

152

He predestined us toadoption as sons through Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the kind intention of His will,

Ephesians 1:5 (NASB)

I was born and grew up in a traditional Chinese Taoist family in Taiwan.  When we were little, my mom gave my brother and two sisters to the temple gods as adopted son and daughters.  It was a common practice for Taoists.  The purpose of doing so was to ask for health, protection and blessings for her children.  However, my mom never gave me to any temple god as an adopted daughter.

In Ephesians 1:5, the Bible tells us that God predestined us to adoption as sons through Jesus Christ to Himself.  I finally understood why my mom never gave me to any temple god as an adopted daughter.  It was God’s hand to protect me since I was a child.  What an assurance that God predestined us to adoption!  What a blessing that we are His adopted sons and daughters, not any other gods!

Looking back, I sometimes ask myself whether I always live my life in light of this prestigious position. As God’s predestined daughter, I’m not a slave to sin, fear or death anymore.  I have a life full of hope, joy and love as God promised.  A life that is far greater than me.  And, it’s predestined by our everlasting loving God whom we call our “Abba Father!”  Do you live your life as God’s son and daughter, not a slave to sin?

Prayer: Abba Father, we give praise for your love and grace!  Please help us to live our lives as  Your sons and daughters.  Amen.

Thought for the Day: Understanding the prestigious position we have from God as His sons and daughters helps us to denounce any false condemnation from evil.

About Tracy Hsu Jensen

A writer after working in the computer industry for 20 years , a wife and a Christian since college; Love to write stories to be part of God
This entry was posted in Meditations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment